Giannis Antetokounmpo wins the NBA MVP at the NBA Awards 2019

Giannis Antetokounmpo against Raptors in the ECF NBA Playoffs 2018-19

The third annual NBA Awards was held at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica, California featuring the top performances from the season, plus new categories, all determined exclusively by fan voting.

Complete list of winners:

Giannis Antetokounmpo
Giannis Antetokounmpo (source: ESPN)

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player – Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

Stats & Info: Giannis Antetokounmpo is the second Bucks player to win the NBA MVP award, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who won it three times. Antetokounmpo is the third-youngest player to win MVP over the last 40 seasons, trailing only Derrick Rose and LeBron James, and he ties Steve Nash for the lowest-drafted MVP in the lottery era (15th overall pick).

Rudy Gobert (source: ESPN)

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

Stats & Info: After winning the award in 2017-18, Rudy Gobert is the first player to win Defensive Player of the Year in consecutive seasons since Kawhi Leonard in 2014-15 and 2015-16. Before that, it was Dwight Howard in three straight seasons from 2008-11.

Luka Doncic
Luka Doncic (source: ESPN)

Kia NBA Rookie of the YearLuka Dončić, Dallas Mavericks

Stats & Info: Luka Doncic is the second Mavericks player in franchise history to win Rookie of the Year, joining Jason Kidd, who shared the award with Grant Hill in 1994-95. Doncic was the fifth rookie to average 20+ points, 5+ assists and 5+ rebounds in a season — all five won the ROY award.

Lou Williams
Lou Williams (source: ESPN)

Kia NBA Sixth Man AwardLou Williams, LA Clippers

Stats & Info: Lou Williams is the second player to win Sixth Man of the Year three times, joining Jamal Crawford. Williams joins Kevin McHale and Detlef Schrempf as the only players to win the award in consecutive seasons.

Pascal Siakam
Pascal Siakam (source: ESPN)

Kia NBA Most Improved Player –Pascal Siakam, Toronto Raptors

Stats & Info: Pascal Siakam increased his points per game average by 9.7 points in 2018-19, most by any player to play at least 40 games in each season. Siakam held opponents to 39.4 percent as the closest defender during the 2018-19 season, lowest by any player to face at least 500 shots, per Second Spectrum tracking. He is also the first Raptors player to win the award.

Mike Budenholzer
Mike Budenholzer (source: ESPN)

NBA Coach of the Year – Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks

In the 2018-19 season, Mike Budenholzer became the seventh head coach in NBA history to win at least 60 games in a season with multiple franchises, joining Pat Riley (three times), Phil Jackson, K.C. Jones, Mike D’Antoni, Don Nelson and Rick Adelman.

NBA Cares Community Assist Award – Bradley Beal, Washington Wizards

Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award – Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies

Lifetime Achievement Award – Larry Bird, Magic Johnson

Sager Strong Award – Robin Roberts

NBA Hustle Award – Marcus Smart

NBA Sportsmanship Award

  • Steven Adams, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Harrison Barnes, Sacramento Kings
  • Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies
  • Al Horford, Boston Celtics
  • Khris Middleton, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets

Fan Vote

House of Highlights Moment of the Year – Derrick Rose

All-NBA Teams

All-NBA First Team

  • †Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • James Harden, Houston Rockets
  • Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • Paul George, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Nikola Jokić, Denver Nuggets

NBA All-Rookie Team

  • Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks
  • Trae Young, Atlanta Hawks
  • Deandre Ayton, Phoenix Suns
  • Jaren Jackson Jr., Memphis Grizzlies
  • Marvin Bagley III, Sacramento Kings

NBA All-Defensive Team

  • Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
  • Paul George, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Marcus Smart, Boston Celtics
  • Eric Bledsoe, Milwaukee Bucks

All NBA Awards Finalists are available here.

Comment here